PDA

View Full Version : Lion opens on backup


jimco
01-25-2012, 08:30 PM
Now that Lion restarts everything when it logs in, when I boot to my backup SuperDuper immediately starts and offers to back up. Since I also run Time Machine, it starts and begins to screw things up. And anything else that happened to be running when I ran SuperDuper.

I know I can disable this feature on my system, but I don't mind it. However, is there a way to set the SuperDuper backup not to restore windows and apps on opening?

Thanks,
Jim

dnanian
01-25-2012, 09:46 PM
There isn't, no. Sorry.

jimco
01-26-2012, 08:45 AM
Well, thanks for the straight answer. I guess in future I will turn Time Machine off, log out other users, and quit other apps before doing a SuperDuper! backup, which I know is good policy anyway. And when I boot into the backup image (which I do occasionally to test) I'll just tell SuperDuper! no thanks.
Jim

tuni
01-26-2012, 02:31 PM
I have encountered this issue too and find it a minimal annoyance - ever since I installed Lion- however, it "appears" if I follow Dave's suggestion and when I start up, I boot up while holding shift key down, it doesn't happen....at least not so far ;)

dnanian
01-26-2012, 02:32 PM
It's not an "issue" as much as it is Lion operating "as designed".