PDA

View Full Version : schedule backup on mount grayed out?


tvalleau
01-14-2012, 11:27 PM
I have a 2TB drive broken into 7 volumes that I want to backup on mount. I've created any number of such schedules before with success, but this one is a no-go: the option to schedule a clone on mount is grayed out.

Other scripts scheduled on mount work fine.

Any suggestions as to what might be wrong?

Lion. 24GB RAM.

TIA

dnanian
01-15-2012, 02:40 AM
Is there something different about this particular drive vs. the others (type, connection, etc)?

tvalleau
01-15-2012, 01:22 PM
Is there something different about this particular drive vs. the others (type, connection, etc)?

Yep... figured it out: it's connected to my newly installed Tempo 4CH Sata II E4I card. Although it's a SATA, not eSATA card, it does support hot-swapping.

It appears that SuperDuper is "trying to protect me from myself," and sees that card as supporting only fixed drives.

Once I pulled the drive from its removable slot, and mounted it using a "real" eSATA card, the option re-appeared.

Unfortunately, this business of outsmarting me makes my removable drive setup less useful...

dnanian
01-15-2012, 01:51 PM
We're really not trying to outsmart you; we're disabling based on whether the drive is removable (according to the OS).

tvalleau
01-15-2012, 02:04 PM
We're really not trying to outsmart you; we're disabling based on whether the drive is removable (according to the OS).

Well, then something is wrong, or at least confused, because the OS supports hot-swapping, and the card supports it and I can put and pull drives all day long (and do! :-)

Perhaps "hot swapping" and "removable" are different things with exactly the same effect?

(and out of curiosity -why are you doing that disable? It wouldn't take long to figure out that you don't want it checked if you do so accidentally...That's what I meant by "protecting me from myself.")

dnanian
01-15-2012, 05:17 PM
Perhaps - it's definitely not coming back from the volume iteration calls with removable.

And, why? For the same reason Finder doesn't show eject icons by all drives...