PDA

View Full Version : update fails, why?


eric inazaki
12-21-2011, 11:35 PM
SuperDuper fails at updating. I get a "the version check failed due to a "could not connect to the server" error...". Wireshark tells me SuperDuper is trying to open an http connection to someplace on the Comcast network. My Firefox seems to do a similar thing (update via http) with no problem.

I've seen other threads on this subject with no resolution so I thought I'd ask again. Why doesn't the update function work (reliably)?

BTW, I've seen this problem on two different versions, 2.6.4 and, I think 2.6.2 (not very much older than current). And the problem was observed on different Macs and on different networks.

Any ideas?

eric

dnanian
12-21-2011, 11:42 PM
Our update server is temporarily down, and due to holiday travel, we're unable to get it back up quickly. That said, there is no update to deliver (and any update can be downloaded from my web site directly), so there's nothing to worry about.

We'll get it up again as soon as we can. Apologies for the difficulties.

eric inazaki
12-21-2011, 11:49 PM
Our update server is temporarily down, and due to holiday travel, we're unable to get it back up quickly. That said, there is no update to deliver (and any update can be downloaded from my web site directly), so there's nothing to worry about.

We'll get it up again as soon as we can. Apologies for the difficulties.

Thanks for the fast followup. Judging by the posts it looked like this is has been an off and on problem for quite some time. Maybe the earlier issues were some other problem. One of my coworkers, who had the same upgrade problem, suggested the web site thing also.

Thanks again,
eric

dnanian
12-22-2011, 08:17 AM
This does not happen often - it's nearly always a problem on the user's system (typically it's Little Snitch). In this case, though, it's our fault.