PDA

View Full Version : Sparseimage changed to dmg somehow


penmaster
11-01-2011, 04:26 PM
Superduper schedule has been working good for months. Recently I had to upgrade the external drive to a larger capacity. I paused all the scheduled backups then copied all the backup files to the new drive, then resumed the scheduled backups.

The backups resumed okay. It was on week 4 and the first two times for week 4 after resuming, everything worked good. On the third time for week 4 at the end when it was finishing the backup said it was converting to read only. When I checked the disk it had changed the sparseimage file to a dmg file.

Is there any way to get back the old sparseimage file? Once it has been changed is there any way to reverse it or do I have to trash it and start over?

I have never seen that before. Does anyone know what happened? I didn't make any changes to the options.

dnanian
11-01-2011, 04:53 PM
I can't see how it could have possibly changed the backup type and image to read-only unless it had been scheduled that way. What do you see on the backup?

penmaster
11-02-2011, 02:12 PM
For the backup the General tab says ...
During copy: Smart Update Desktop G5 Drive 1 Week 4, then copy files from Macintosh HD
On Successful completion: Do nothing.

Come to think of it, I had the scheduler window up when I was looking at the options and I noticed there were several entries in the scheduler that started with "Erase (some drive) something or other ..." so I deleted all those. I may have been flipping through the options so it must have added items to the scheduler when I was doing this.

The time that the backup changed the sparseimage file to dmg I manually started the backup. I hit the "Copy now" button with one of my regular backup entries selected in the scheduler.

When an entry is selected (highlighted) in the scheduler window, down at the bottom it tells you what's going to happen and it says it's going to smart update. If I flip through the options on the other window, it's not changing what's going to happen - even if I quit the program and start over, it hasn't changed the part where it says What's going to happen. It still says smart update - so that didn't change the options, right?

dnanian
11-02-2011, 03:30 PM
Changing the main window doesn't affect existing schedules (and not all options are mentioned in the scheduler's "What's going to happen?" section due to space constraints...