PDA

View Full Version : Initial Backup To A Time Capsule


Mojo
09-12-2011, 01:09 AM
Kindly disregard; I figured it out myself. Delete this post if possible...

Sorry!

supuhee
10-28-2011, 01:45 PM
I want to use SD for daily or weekly full, bootable backups of 3 computers to Time Capsule, possibly in addition to standard Time Machine backups. However, SD does not recognize Time Capsule, which is a shared volume on my LAN (Ethernet or WiFi). Apple Tech Support assured me that there would be no problem keeping 2 kinds of backups from 3 computers on one Space Capsule. But I cannot get to Square 1 until SD recognizes the Time Capsule.

dnanian
10-28-2011, 01:48 PM
Sure it does. Are you following the steps in the User's Guide - "Backing up over a network"? Maybe the standard File Save dialog is in "minimal" mode (click the little arrow next to the file pop-up to expand it)?

Mojo
10-28-2011, 03:54 PM
You can use SD! to backup one computer over your network, but you cannot partition a wireless Time Capsule.

You will need a wired external drive with three partitions to accomplish what you want...

dnanian
10-28-2011, 04:06 PM
No, that's not true. You back up to an image when using a network drive. You can have many images side-by-side on a Time Capsule (or any NAS).

supuhee
10-28-2011, 04:52 PM
Sure it does. Are you following the steps in the User's Guide - "Backing up over a network"? Maybe the standard File Save dialog is in "minimal" mode (click the little arrow next to the file pop-up to expand it)?
Thanks, I should have looked at the User Guide. My first effort failed because I did something stupid, but I'll try again.