PDA

View Full Version : Transfer SD Backup to new external


Fury
09-04-2011, 04:38 PM
Long time user. Only had to restore once when installing new hd to imac. Worked flawlessly. I recommend SD to everyone I know.

I need to increase the size of my SD external hard drive. Question is can I just move the files from one external to another and then rename that new volume SuperDuper?

Or do I have to a full backup to the new external?

Thanks!

dnanian
09-04-2011, 04:56 PM
Use SuperDuper! to copy from the one backup to the other. Then, recreate any schedules to reference the new, different drive and continue your backups.

jhtopping
09-07-2011, 02:37 PM
Dave, when you say to use SuperDuper! to copy from the one backup to the other, is this done using one of the available scripts or with the typical SuperDuper! screens? When using SuperDuper! was able to change the Copy parameter from Macintosh HD to Disk Image but I was not able to select one of the .sparseimage backup files. This is not a critical issue, but I was trying test a process that may be needed in the future.

Thanks

dnanian
09-07-2011, 03:43 PM
If you're copying a sparse image, I'd just do it with Finder. It's just one big file.