PDA

View Full Version : SD Clone hosting DiskWarrior?


Zarkov
08-01-2011, 10:13 AM
Dave, I havent seen this explicitly discussed in the forum. Sorry if I am mistaken.

My iMac had long used SD, cloned to a Firewire 800 HD. Boots reliably. The iMac, and hence the clone, has various tools, such as DiskWarrior, installed. If one of my other (different model) Macs has a problem which needs DiskWarrior, can I safely boot that older machine form my clone? (Booting from the DVD is S-L-O-W).

In other words, does the OSX image of the cloned machine support (boot) earlier machines, or does each copy of OSX have "helper" files specific to each machine which are not installed in every installation?

All machines are intel based.

Thanks.

dnanian
08-01-2011, 10:29 AM
It depends on the version of the OS on the copy, of course. But if that version will boot the other Mac, you should be fine.

Note that I'm also assuming that Disk Warrior is compatible with the version of the OS and file system that you're repairing.

Zarkov
08-01-2011, 11:20 AM
Oh, all machines are compatible in that they are intel based, and my cloned machine (if not the others) has the latest OS version. I'm just thinking is Joe down the block has a problem with his Leopard-based machine, can I fix it with my SD clone running Snow Leopard or Lion. Apparently I can.

Thanks for the quick reply.