PDA

View Full Version : Smart Update takes multiple runs?


streborg
06-01-2011, 11:40 AM
I have an internal drive used for data only that I wanted to re-purpose. It contains a little over 4600 files. I used SuperDuper erase then copy it to an external swappable tray drive of the same size. It completed without errors. To verify, I changed the SuperDuper options to smart update and ran again. Imagine my surprise when it updated over 1500 of 4600 files. I ran it multiple times. It took 4 runs before no files were copied. Results from each run was 1500, 735, 321, 6, 0, 0, 0 files copied. I can assure you that no updates were made to the original drive between runs.

I really hope you can provide an explanation as I'm now doubting the accuracy of all my backups.

dnanian
06-01-2011, 12:18 PM
That seems rather weird. Can you send me the logs for these runs using "Send to shirt pocket" so I can take a look? (If you send just one it'll send the last 10 for those 'settings'.) Thanks.

streborg
06-01-2011, 12:55 PM
The logs have been sent.

streborg
06-01-2011, 06:10 PM
You nailed that one. I turned off spotlight on both the from and to volume. Ran a backup. Immediately repeated the backup. Zero files copied the second time. I feel much better about my backups.

Thanks.

dnanian
06-01-2011, 06:42 PM
Glad to hear it. :)

harringg
06-25-2011, 06:00 PM
You nailed that one. I turned off spotlight on both the from and to volume. Ran a backup. Immediately repeated the backup. Zero files copied the second time. I feel much better about my backups.

Thanks.

Could you elaborate on what seems to have an off-line reply about your situation.

Is Spotlight adding files to the backup process? Is Spotlight responsible for slow backups (Backup, check email, 15 minutes backup after checking email and then doing a backup)?

dnanian
06-26-2011, 01:04 AM
No - but a lot of files can be responsible. Remember: we always check every file every time you run. We don't know there's just one changed file until we check all of them...