PDA

View Full Version : Scheduling Hourly Backups


ramonekalsaw
04-14-2011, 10:27 PM
To get SuperDuper! to schedule an hourly backup over ten hours, would I have to schedule it ten times?

Thanks.

dnanian
04-14-2011, 11:24 PM
Yes. But, really - why would you do that? I'd really suggest NOT backing up hourly.

ramonekalsaw
04-15-2011, 03:04 AM
Yes. But, really - why would you do that? I'd really suggest NOT backing up hourly.
Dave, from an educational point of view, why do you emphatically recommend against doing an hourly backup ... when that is what Time Machine does?

And ... I'm in the process of getting another external which I'll use for a Time Machine backup so I'll get that hourly backup. Which I want to have in case something screws up in the file I've been working on all day that's not scheduled to be backed up until 9:00PM.

Considering this, what is the SuperDuper! strategy for protecting data between backups?

Thanks ... Ramone

dnanian
04-15-2011, 10:32 AM
Time Machine is keeping a history. SuperDuper! is keeping a copy. Very different.

If you want to keep hourly backups, use BOTH SuperDuper! and Time Machine.