PDA

View Full Version : logging in for routine backup


has55
02-04-2011, 06:11 PM
You wrote in user guide:
SuperDuper! does not have to be running for a schedule backup to
take place, but the user who scheduled it does have to be logged in,
with their account in front (if Fast User Switching is active), and the
screen must be unlocked.

Does that mean no password on my account ( leave blank), so the energy saver app in system preference would wake up the computer one min before backup and log into my account for SD to do the back up?

Austin

dnanian
02-05-2011, 12:00 AM
No, an account password is fine. You can't use a "wake" password, though.

has55
02-05-2011, 07:10 AM
I've never heard of the 'wake' password, but when I typed wake in the help window in the energy saver section, it pointed me to the security section. In the general section I found the required password timing after sleep or screen saver begins to be unchecked. For clarification: I did not mentioned that I have fast user switching active for my wife and I.

" SuperDuper! does not have to be running for a schedule backup to
take place, but the user who scheduled it does have to be logged in,
with their account in front (if Fast User Switching is active), and the
screen must be unlocked. "
I have a password on this account. Do I need to manually be logged in or can superduper do it for the scheduled backup? There is no password for wake.

Or do I need to deactivate fast user switching , since we both have to logged into our account anyway to get to our desktop?

Thank you for your help.

dnanian
02-05-2011, 09:28 AM
That password is different than a password protected screen saver. That's just system authentication for changing things (like installing an update).

has55
02-05-2011, 10:06 AM
Thank you. Clearly understand now.