PDA

View Full Version : Smart Copy Stuck


Enigmacode
10-28-2010, 11:24 PM
Hi Gang

I have 2.6.2 - using 10.4.11

I recently bought #3 Hatachi Deskstar 2TB Drives.

I took one of them and mounted it in an OWC Mecury Elite enclosure. *The enclosure is working fine.

I used Disk Utility to Erase, and Journal using Mac OS Extended. I partitioned into 5 Partitions hoping to copy the contents of 5 separate older Lacie Drives.

I'm trying to use 'Smart Copy' to copy the contents of one of the Lacie drives into the 2TB partitioned drive, (one of the partitions).

It seems to be stuck 1/2 way - won't progress any further ....

Any ideas? Bad drive? Bad Super Duper?

I do have Disk Warrior

Mike

dnanian
10-28-2010, 11:24 PM
Likely copying a large file, assuming the drive and dock aren't bad... send support email, OK?

Enigmacode
10-28-2010, 11:29 PM
"Likely copying a large file, assuming the drive and dock aren't bad"

Please explain?

Are you saying the drive might be a lemon?

dnanian
10-28-2010, 11:32 PM
I'm saying I don't know, and that's why I'd like you to send support email so we can go back and forth with some diagnostics.

Enigmacode
10-29-2010, 11:30 PM
Is it normal for Super to hang on the copy process and not move for about 15 minutes?

I can't tell if the SATA Card is transmitting properly?

I stopped the process, erased the data, and started over again. This time it seemed to get through the entire process without issues.

FirmTek has NO verbal Tech Support - they'll answer your emails. They instructed me to move the card to a different slot - I did - it seemed to improve - but now I can't tell anymore ...

I'm assuming the dock/enclosure is fine or I wouldn't get drive recognition at all.

Intermittent data flow seems like a connection issue - whether the card is transmitting data or not.

Mike

Enigmacode
10-30-2010, 07:12 AM
FirmTek Sucks - They are NOT giving me any advice or help - Little Support

I have noticed that occasionally when I open Super Duper, the interface elements don't always appear normal. I usually have to shut down, then re-open it.

dnanian
10-30-2010, 08:25 AM
Well, "hanging" usually means a large file is being copied, but if the behavior changed after a restart, it sounds more like hardware issues. Perhaps your Console application (system log) will give you some hints?

Enigmacode
10-30-2010, 11:13 AM
Hello Dave

You've always been helpful.

Let me understand this, (I think we're on the same page). If the issue of 'hanging' during a copy process is NOT repeated upon a second attempt to 'Smart Copy' the entire contents of a drive, yes I agree it sounds like an intermitent communication problem with regard to the eSATA card which is suppose to be transmitting data back n forth.

Theoretically, SATA is supposed to be FASTER than FW800. It actually is, I can see the difference in the Super Duper monitoring data. BUT, the 'hanging' could be more a hardware fault; bad enclosure, bad drive, faulty eSATA card.

I guess the incomplete loading of the Super Duper software was just a fluke?

Thank you
Mike

dnanian
10-30-2010, 11:30 AM
The "incomplete loading" of SD! sounded like the "disk list" OSX API threw an exception during its drive enumeration, so it corresponds to potential drive/interface problems.

Enigmacode
10-30-2010, 11:50 AM
Dave

"so it corresponds to potential drive/interface problems"

Are you agreeing this 'could' be hardware related? i.e. the eSATA card?

Or are you saying it's a damaged OS installation?

Mike

And I posted this;
http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=2631581&tstart=0

dnanian
10-30-2010, 12:01 PM
I'm saying that hardware affects software operation, and the hardware was doing something weird which caused the software to throw an exception.