PDA

View Full Version : Accounts in System Prefs is blank


mattand
09-24-2010, 03:08 PM
Apologies if this has been posted elsewhere.

I have a Super Duper back up on a FireWire drive that I want to restore to my internal startup disk. I can boot the Mac of the SD backup with no problem. However, I'm having an issue with the Accounts pane in the System Prefs. I'm running a G5, OS 10.4.11, and the external HD is a Maxtor OneTouch Plus.

Whenever I click on the Accounts icon, the System Prefs title bar changes to "Loading Accounts.." and then hangs. If I click again, I'm presented with a blank window; no user account info at all.

If I try to boot off the internal HD following a SuperDuper restore, I'm presented with an Account Login screen with no users. Inputting accurate user names and passwords gets me nowhere.

Research seems to indicate that this is indicative of a corrupt User folder. I'm at a loss as to how to identify the culprit. Has anyone run into this problem? Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Matt

dnanian
09-24-2010, 03:20 PM
I've not heard of that, Matt. Are you sure this was a "Backup - all files" with "Smart Update" or "erase, then copy" originally? It almost sounds like the backup wasn't made properly in the first place.

mattand
09-24-2010, 04:08 PM
Hey, Dave:

Thanks for getting back to me. I was backing up the boot HD to the FireWire HD with a custom script that copied everything except a separate work folder. I used the General Tab I used the "copy newer files" setting.

I've tried using the standard "Restore-all files" command with both Smart Update and Erase and Install to no avail. The problem I'm running into is fairly similar to this thread. (http://hintsforums.macworld.com/archive/index.php/t-41871.html)

That's not to say I didn't something wrong. This is the first time I've ever had to restore from SuperDuper so user error may be an explanation. Appreciate you writing back.

Matt

dnanian
09-24-2010, 05:16 PM
You did do something wrong: you used Copy Newer. Copy Newer does not produce a reliably bootable backup, because it doesn't remove things that need to be removed. Smart Update does. So - you can't restore in full and expect a proper result...

mattand
09-24-2010, 05:56 PM
Once I figure out how to rebuild the accounts, I'll make the correction in the SuperDuper settings. Thanks for your help.