PDA

View Full Version : Time Capsule, Time machine and SD


KeithB
06-29-2010, 01:02 PM
I am moving to a new house and am thinking about getting a Time Capsule to extend my wireless network.

I have a shiny new iMac and an older G4 iBook on 10.4.something.

If I got a Time Capsule could I:
Create a partition for Super Duper to use to back up the iBook?
Could I boot from that partition?

dnanian
06-29-2010, 01:06 PM
You can create an image, yes. You cannot boot from it: it's a network drive (and a virtual image on that, at that).

You're much better off with a directly-attached drive as a primary, bootable backup. Use the Time Capsule for Time Machine.

harringg
06-30-2010, 11:12 PM
You can create an image, yes. You cannot boot from it: it's a network drive (and a virtual image on that, at that).

You're much better off with a directly-attached drive as a primary, bootable backup. Use the Time Capsule for Time Machine.

I have a 1000 GB drive, partitioned in two 500 drives. I was running TimeMachine backup on one and a bootable SuperDuper on the second half. I've just attached it to an Airport Extreme. Do I gather from your comment that it will A: no longer be bootable (if re-attaching to the computer directly) or B: can't even back up to it?

Thanks,
Grant

dnanian
07-01-2010, 12:29 AM
We can back up to it, but not directly - only to an image (similar to how Time Machine deals with the same situation). And no, it won't be directly bootable. See the "Airport Disks" post at the Shirt Pocket blog.