PDA

View Full Version : Dropbox and backup


harringg
06-17-2010, 09:31 PM
No, not backup to Dropbox with SD. But when I started running a SD Smart backup, my fans are running full speed and checking Activity monitor, Dropbox is taking about 65 CPU and something called 'installdb' via User '_installer' is taking 70 CPU. This is happening during the Repair Permissions of the SD Smart backup.

I just did a TimeMachine backup on my laptop and it went smoothly, now the SD backup seems to maxing out things. Is this normal because of Repair Permissions?

dnanian
06-17-2010, 09:53 PM
Yes, when you repair permissions, we ask Disk Utility to do it, and the process involves reading the install database to get the default permissions you need. You can always turn that option off (the default).

sjk
09-01-2012, 03:14 PM
I've noticed Dropbox and dbfseventsd processes have high CPU usage during most of the time SuperDuper! and a few other apps are running. Seems to be triggered by certain apps doing relatively heavy disk access.