PDA

View Full Version : Backups with SD


fdwlaw
05-13-2010, 09:26 PM
I've been a long time user of SD and it's saved my butt on several occasions.

Ive been using Time Machine as a incremental backup (hourly or whenever it does it), and SD as a cloned smart backup (weekly).

I have SD setup as a smart scheduled backup (clone) that auto mounts my drive and also setup to auto dismount the same drive when finished.

Now my question:

I would like to use SD to back up like Time Machine does, reason being is because I want the drive to auto mount and dismount. How do I set up SD to backup like that?

Thanks

dnanian
05-13-2010, 11:25 PM
Didn't you say you're already doing what you're asking how to do?

fdwlaw
05-14-2010, 07:40 AM
No, at least I don't think so.

In SD my settings are:
scheduled clone (which auto mounts drive)
using "backup-all-files"
During copy (Smart Update Clone)
On successful completion (Eject clone)

I ALSO want to set up SD to act like Time Machine (see below): What I mean here is to archive files that have changed, or files that were deleted without deleting them during the backup. Hope this makes since.

I would like to use SD to back up like Time Machine does, reason being is because I want the drive to auto mount and dismount. How do I set up SD to backup like that?

dnanian
05-14-2010, 10:02 AM
Oh. We can't - that's what Time Machine is for. Sorry.