PDA

View Full Version : Feature request >> expanded preferences


timlance
04-28-2010, 10:54 AM
I now routinely do three types of backups and sometimes use different scripts, too. I also am not one to do a lot of automation to take care of what I am about to suggest.

I remember well how much I appreciated, and still do, when you gave us the option to not remember source and destination volumes. Just recently I have begun working in such a way I would dearly love SD! not remembering what script is in "using" on the first pane (currently defaults to last used). More, I would love to have blank, on the Options pane to have "during copy" blank. I understand that all this leads to a stripped efficacy but it would also save me from myself. Indeed I'd love as few "presets" as possible. I find being forced to do a few ticks more secure than trusting memory and/or trying to pay adequate attention.

Thanks for any consideration.

dnanian
04-28-2010, 11:08 AM
This isn't something I'm likely to do, Tim, but I'd encourage you to save settings for each backup you wish to do. By saving the settings, and loading them when you want to run that backup (either with the File menu or by double clicking in Finder), you are much more likely to get the results you want (as opposed to having to rechoose every setting every time).

timlance
04-28-2010, 02:57 PM
I didn't think you would. But you really don't know how bad some folks' processes can be. Sure, you'd think one choice is simple when in fact a series of connected choices can serve as checks. Perhaps I taught SpecialEd too long and so some methodologies applicable there have come to work for me.

But I do thank you for your consideration.