PDA

View Full Version : Setting volume UUID...


salobaas
04-16-2010, 10:57 AM
Hi,

I've the following issue. I use Aperture to manage my photos. The photos are referenced in the Aperture library (not included). Aperture saves the volume UUID of the volume containing the photos for each photo in the library. For offsite backup I rsync both the Aperture library and all photos to a machine at work. On both sides the logical volume names containing the photos are the same (/Volumes/photos), but the UUID's are not. Now when starting Aperture it says it cannot find the referenced photos and I've to "relocate" all photos. With more than 50k photos this takes several hours (on a big MacPro). Now ideally I would like to set the UUID of the offsite /Volumes/photos to be the same as the /Volumes/photos at home. In another thread on this forum I found this suggestion:

On home machine:
/Applications/SuperDuper\!.app/Contents/MacOS/SDDiskTool -g /Volumes/photos
E724B26D74FCEFD4

On work machine:
sudo /Applications/SuperDuper\!.app/Contents/MacOS/SDDiskTool -s E724B26D74FCEFD4 /Volumes/photos
/Applications/SuperDuper\!.app/Contents/MacOS/SDDiskTool -g /Volumes/photos
E724B26D74FCEFD4

This seems to work great, except that it does not fool Aperture. And actually this UUID does not correspond to the UUID shown when doing:

diskutil info /Volumes/photos
...
...
Volume UUID: 7C589D59-7A80-3610-B4D6-691BBA0C702B
...

So what UUID is SDDiskTool setting and how can I change the real Volume UUID?

Many thanks for any suggestions.

Cheers, Fons.

dnanian
04-16-2010, 01:49 PM
Does Apple actually document it as saving the volume UUID? Because our UUID is the volume UUID (the HFS+ UUID, see hfs.util). diskutil's might be a different one that isn't quite the same.

salobaas
04-16-2010, 02:22 PM
It looks like the longer volume UUID that is stored in the Aperture library. Do you have any idea how to overwrite that UUID?

Cheers, Fons.

dnanian
04-16-2010, 02:31 PM
I do not. Is the 'relocate' a repair option that the program does on its own?

salobaas
04-16-2010, 05:47 PM
Yes, to fix the references, you have to point Aperture to the new location and then it will update the 50k plus references to the volume UUID, which takes quite some time.

Cheers, Fons.

dnanian
04-16-2010, 05:53 PM
Ok -- this is a command? I ask because another user is wondering why Aperture is breaking links internally when copied, and it seems like it's by design and repairable.

salobaas
04-26-2010, 06:35 AM
Update: IT WORKS setting HFS+ UUID!!

Just unmounting and remounting the external disk after the UUID change was not enough, but after a reboot it worked (guess some caching issue). Aperture sees it as the original disk and all the links are there. Great!

Cheers, Fons.

dnanian
04-26-2010, 09:47 AM
Ah, good to hear. It would have really been weird if there had been some other UUID there!