PDA

View Full Version : Glitches with SD! 2.6.2 and target disk image selection


Timmy
11-11-2009, 03:39 PM
I think I am seeing some minor annoyances with SD! 2.6.2 that I was not experiencing with 2.5

I frequently perform a backup to a DiskImage (encrypted sparseimage, manually created in Disk Utility).

So I use the SD! Target pop-up to select the 'Disk Image..." option. I then select the desired diskimage from the dialog box.
BUT, the "Image type" pop-up within the dialog box must be manually chosen as well (from "Read Only Disk Image" to "Read/Write Sparse Image".

If we don't change the image type, then Options...->During Copy becomes grayed-out and "Erase then Copy" is apparently predetermined.

This was not the case with SD! 2.5
Same machine, same system, same target disk image.

MacOS X 10.4.11 PPC

dnanian
11-11-2009, 04:43 PM
This hasn't really changed, Timmy: you've always had to select the image type.

Timmy
11-11-2009, 05:07 PM
This hasn't really changed, Timmy: you've always had to select the image type.

I am absolutely positive that I did not need to select the image type every time with SD! 2.5.

dnanian
11-11-2009, 05:16 PM
OK. I don't think we changed the way this behaves, but I'll log it for investigation.

Timmy
11-11-2009, 05:27 PM
OK. I don't think we changed the way this behaves, but I'll log it for investigation.

Thanks.
I will await a fix.

BTW, I also noticed that mounting those same target dmg volumes after a SD! 2.6.2 backup session results in Spotlight immediately wanting to index them.
Again, same system, same volumes, same settings, only difference is SD! 2.6.2 vs 2.5

dnanian
11-11-2009, 05:41 PM
Perhaps you need to add that image into Spotlight's "Privacy" tab?

Timmy
11-11-2009, 05:45 PM
Perhaps you need to add that image into Spotlight's "Privacy" tab?

So 2.6.2 caused it to be removed??

dnanian
11-11-2009, 05:50 PM
Not that I am aware of. Did you look to see if it's in there?

Timmy
03-24-2010, 10:24 PM
Destination volume is in Spotlight privacy pref before running SuperDuper! 2.6.2.
After the SD! clone completes, Spotlight begins indexing destination volume and is no longer showing in Spotlight privacy list.

Confirmed on two machines.

10.4.11 PPC (Erase then copy)
10.6.2 Intel (Erase then copy)

dnanian
03-24-2010, 11:51 PM
Yes, with "Erase, then copy", this is true. Use Smart Update.