PDA

View Full Version : BootCamp, Parallels, & VMWare


Pendragon
11-04-2009, 12:29 PM
Were I to install BootCamp, Parallels, or VMWare on a separate volume, would I be able to use SD! to copy that to a backup volume?

dnanian
11-04-2009, 01:27 PM
Not if that volume was Windows-formatted.

Pendragon
11-04-2009, 06:33 PM
Just what I feared. Ah, the truth doth hurteth.

Still, my many thanks for the prompt reply.

robertp
12-20-2009, 11:20 AM
Does this mean that when backing up the entire drive it's necessary to EXCLUDE the VMWARE image?

dnanian
12-20-2009, 11:43 AM
Absolutely not.

tuni
12-21-2009, 04:43 PM
echoing Dave's response. I backup the whole drive includes VmWare with no problems as far as I can tell. Have not used Parallels or BootCamp.

robertp
12-27-2009, 11:01 AM
Thanks, all, for the advice. Sorry I couldn't ack. before (holiday doings).

%%robert