PDA

View Full Version : Cloning a Mac that won't boot anymore?


leo
09-30-2009, 07:40 AM
Unfortunately, my Desktop Mac, a G4 Quicksilver with OS 10.3.9 and about 100GB of files on it, doesn't start up anymore, even when trying to boot from an external CD (holding down C while pressing the start up button). It looks as if the internal HD can't be read anymore :-((

Anyway, I have an Intel Macbook running on 10.5.8. and with currently about 30GB free space.

So, the big question is:

If I buy an external HD bigger than 100GB, would it be possible to clone the 100GB of the G4 by using SuperDuper? If yes, how?

dnanian
09-30-2009, 10:06 AM
If it won't even start up with the "C" key (which boots from the CD), and your internal drive isn't working, I don't see how it could be read, let alone copied in full...

leo
09-30-2009, 11:17 AM
Many thanks for your quick reply even though your answer doesn't look very uplifting. Such is life. But listen, it seems like a miracle, but I have just been able to restart the machine again. In other words, the G4 is currently running on 10.3.9 (maybe for one last time).

Given this situation, how would you proceed now? In the meantime I got an external HD (Iomega 250GB).

Many thanks for your advice
Leo

dnanian
09-30-2009, 12:27 PM
I'd backup as quickly as you can. I'd start with a "Backup - user files" to get as much of your Home folder on the backup as you can. Once that's done, THEN switch to "Backup - all files". (Use Smart Update in all cases), which will add the rest.

TMay
10-02-2009, 07:46 PM
leo

Do as Dave says.

I will only add that I have such a computer. If it craps out on you again before you are able to do, or complete, the backups Dave is referring to, I'd make one suggestion. If the machine is truly totally refusing to power up (you don't say exactly) then it is quite likely (only "quite likely"...not certain) that the internal drive with your data is fine and that the problem lies elsewhere in the machine. This means that by simply removing your drive and putting it into an appropriate case or adapter you might well be able to extract the data. Well worth a last ditch try.

Good luck.