PDA

View Full Version : Backup versus Restore


Halberstadt
09-29-2009, 01:12 AM
I haven't been able to find the answer to this in the user guide: What exactly is the difference between "Backup - all files" and "Restore - all files" in the box labeled "using"? I had always used "Backup - all files" to transfer everything to a new disk, whether that action would be considered a backup or a restore. Both choices are described as transferring all files.

Bill Halberstadt

chris_johnsen
09-29-2009, 05:16 AM
"Restore - all files" is only needed when a single volume is used for both a SuperDuper! backup and Time Machine snapshots. The difference from "Backup - all files" is that “Restore” will not copy the Time Machine data.