PDA

View Full Version : Drobo/Droboshare not recognised as volume


Mixalis
09-20-2009, 09:07 AM
I have been using Carbon Copy Cloner for some years but have just purchased SuperDuper on the recommendation of various podcasts. I am trying to backup to my Drobo through Droboshare but the volume is not recognised by SuperDuper despite being mounted on the computer.

Before I look elsewhere for an explanation, is there any known issue with Drobo (especially when linked through Droboshare)?

dnanian
09-20-2009, 02:50 PM
See "Backing up over a network" in the User's Guide, Mixalis (and the "Airport Disks" post at the Shirt Pocket blog).

Mixalis
09-20-2009, 04:09 PM
Thanks for this. I had already read the section in the user manual and understand the need to create a sparse bundle. But my problem is that Drobo is not showing up as available in SD, so I cannot choose it as a destination. Droboshare is shown in Finder under "Shared" rather than "Devices" and I suspect this is the problem. I'm still stuck.

dnanian
09-20-2009, 04:55 PM
Did you expand the "Disk Image..." save panel with the arrow control next to the drop down?

Mixalis
09-20-2009, 05:49 PM
Thanks Dave. I had tried to do this but couldn't see Droboshare. However, since posting my last message I did the obvious and rebooted the system and I can now see the Drobo via Droboshare. I don't know why this happened, but I am now happy. Thank you for your patience with a new user.

Michael

dnanian
09-20-2009, 07:23 PM
Yeah, I try not to recommend that kind of "Hail Mary" pass, but I'm glad you're all set now!