PDA

View Full Version : Switching users during back-up


Parms
09-11-2009, 11:44 PM
Hi everyone, I'm new here and new to Superduper!

Here is my question: While running a back-up on my user account, can another user log on without affecting the back-up process? I'm currently taking an old Time Machine back-up and am going to put it on my shiny new Time Capsule. My wife would like to use her account during the process. So far I am six hours into this and have only backed up about 20% of the old archives. Any advice is certainly welcome. Thanks much!

Steve

Mac OS X 10.5.8

dnanian
09-11-2009, 11:48 PM
Although I haven't done this myself, Steve, I don't know why it would be a problem... but it's hard to know until you try it.

Parms
09-12-2009, 12:06 AM
Well, I put my six-hour investment on the table and rolled the dice. The image that is being backed-up showed up on the other user account as a mounted disk. The external FW drive's light continued to blink. I switched back to my account and the process had continued to progress. While in the other user account, things were REAL slow. Not a problem. I knew this would take 20+ hours going into it and knew other people in the house would want to access their accounts. I'm guessing that the back-up will slow down too when others are logged on, but as long as it continues to work, I'll be just fine.

Steve

OS X 10.5.8