PDA

View Full Version : Scheduled backups not running since SL upgrade


scottaw
09-09-2009, 01:18 PM
Hello, has anyone had any issues with scheduled backups not running anymore since upgrading to snow leopard?

Thanks.

dnanian
09-09-2009, 02:20 PM
Did you delete and recreate your schedules?

scottaw
09-10-2009, 03:44 PM
Did you delete and recreate your schedules?

No, but I did edit them, thinking that this would do the same. Let me delete and recreate them and see what happens.

Cheers!

prairiedream
09-13-2009, 08:27 AM
I am having a problem with my backups not running as scheduled after SL also. I have 5 backups. I did delete them all, and made sure that they say "do nothing" as their option, except for the last one, which says "sleep computer."

I have the 5 backups set 1 minute apart, to run at 11:00, 11:01, 11:02, etc. This is the weird part: backups 1, 4 and 5 run as scheduled, then the computer sleeps. It doesn't run backup 2 and 3 until I wake the computer in the morning.

I have deleted and re-instated these backups several times now, and it still seems to be doing it. I'm being very careful to say only "sleep computer" on the last backup.

??

dnanian
09-13-2009, 10:29 AM
The order backups are run in is not guaranteed past the first one - the others are added to the queue, and run in an undefined sequence.

I'd turn off the "sleep" option and just allow your Mac to sleep naturally...

sjk
09-13-2009, 01:15 PM
The order backups are run in is not guaranteed past the first one - the others are added to the queue, and run in an undefined sequence.
Hmm, I wasn't aware of that; is there a "technical" reason for it? Surely SD! can know the time a task is added to its queue so it's surprising not to predictably behave like a FIFO.

Any I've scheduled where some will be queued have always run in their scheduled order, including four currently one minute apart.

dnanian
09-13-2009, 01:32 PM
No, it's been like this since the start. It's been logged as a bug for quite a while, but it's not high priority enough to have bubbled up yet.

sjk
09-13-2009, 01:58 PM
Glad to know it's considered a bug.

dnanian
09-13-2009, 02:14 PM
It is -- although from a user perspective it's undefined behavior more than anything else. It's just not behaving as you'd assume it would, and that's why I consider it a bug -- violates the "principle of least astonishment".

scottaw
09-19-2009, 05:07 AM
Dave, just as a follow up - one of the backups suddenly started working (I don't know why) but I deleted both, recreated them, and they both seem to be working fine now.

Thanks for your help.