PDA

View Full Version : com.apple.SoftwareUpdate/./Cache.db: Input/output error


mloiterman
09-03-2009, 06:19 PM
Getting this error when I try to clone my wife's iMac.

Snow Leopard, clean install, and migrated her user account over. Is it safe to delete this file?

| 02:59:04 PM | Info | /Users
| 03:27:51 PM | Info | WARNING: Caught I/O exception(12): Cannot allocate memory
| 03:27:51 PM | Info | WARNING: Source: /Users/cindy/Library/Caches/com.apple.SoftwareUpdate/Cache.db, lstat(): 0
| 03:27:51 PM | Info | WARNING: Target: /Volumes/Macintosh HD Mirror/Users/cindy/Library/Caches/com.apple.SoftwareUpdate/Cache.db, lstat(): 0
| 03:27:51 PM | Info | Attempting to copy file using copyfile().
| 03:28:38 PM | Info | Attempting to copy file using ditto.
| 03:29:25 PM | Error | ditto: /Users/cindy/Library/Caches/com.apple.SoftwareUpdate/./Cache.db: Input/output error

dnanian
09-03-2009, 06:29 PM
I believe I've already responded to your question via email. This file is damaged on the source - if you've migrated recently, you may be in the early stages of drive failure. You don't have much choice other than to delete it...

mloiterman
09-03-2009, 07:22 PM
Never got your email.

Also - we migrated her account from a MacBook to an iMac with a totally different HD. Is it possible the file could have been damaged on the MacBook and copied over to the iMac?

Given the above do you still believe the drive is on it's what out (it's possible the MacBook's is on the way out?) and is your suggested solution (delete the file) the same?

dnanian
09-03-2009, 07:37 PM
Check your Junk folder - I definitely replied to your support request (if you sent one in).

It's definitely a problem on the source: you can verify that by attempting to duplicate the same file on the source drive...

mloiterman
09-05-2009, 02:23 PM
Sorry - I sent the bug report from my wife's computer and email. Naturally, that is where you responded.

Anyway, I deleted the file and it cloned perfectly. The nightly clones seem to be going very well also.

Again - do you still believe the drive is going bad? Isn't it possible that the original drive was the one going bad (the MacBook we cloned from) and not the new iMac's drive (the drive we cloned to)?

dnanian
09-05-2009, 03:23 PM
No, the original drive was fine. This was damage on the drive it was copied to. Of course, it's hard to say what that damage was, but it's something to keep a look out for.