PDA

View Full Version : Sandbox causing Aperture 2 "invalid image format" issues.


streborg
08-23-2009, 05:18 PM
A unknown but significant number of Aperture 2 users have been experiencing "invalid image format" issues. See this thread: http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=2012013&tstart=15 This problem only affects Aperture and not other image processing programs. I have tested these same images with Photoshop Sony IDC, SilverFast, Viewscan, Adobe Reader and Preview.

The cause is unknown. In my case it primarily occurs with referenced images from scanners or other image processing programs like tiff or psd. I have definitely linked it to using a sandbox. After extensive testing using my primary OS X drive, Sandbox with shared users and apps, Sandbox with shared users, and Sandbox as a full back up I've obtained the following results. Referenced images always fail when booted from Sandbox shared users or Sandbox shared users and apps. They always work when booted from the primary OS X and the full back up.

Please note that in each case the Sandbox systems and the full back up were created with the erase option from the primary OS X system and no updates or modifications were applied.

As a side not Aperture is an apple application but creating a Sandbox with shared users and apps creates and alias in the applications folder. Hence the test with only shared users.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to what may be happening?

dnanian
08-23-2009, 05:50 PM
The data in all cases here is exactly the same, but you can try to see if copying Aperture, rather than sharing it, helps. Just create a copy script, include the base level Sandbox script, and add a command to copy Aperture in the Command tab. Then, save and use that as your script.

streborg
08-24-2009, 03:22 AM
When I built the Sandbox with users only the problem persisted. This script did copy Aperture. A "backup all files" eliminated the problem. So I'm wondering what is different for both Sandbox options. I pretty sure this is not a Superduper problem, because the problem images work with all other programs from the Sandbox. But the difference between the Sandbox and primary volume may offer a clue that could help resolve the Aperture problem.

dnanian
08-24-2009, 08:09 AM
Basically, the only difference in that case is that the User folder is symlinked. Aperture shouldn't have a problem with that configuration... certainly, not the way that's described...

streborg
08-25-2009, 01:47 AM
I know it shouldn't but in my case it does and the situation can be recreated at will. Thanks for your comments. I'll keep looking for a solution.