PDA

View Full Version : Feature Idea: disable Time Machine on clone


RobLewis
08-19-2009, 11:35 AM
My main boot drive has Time Machine enabled. If I clone it and boot from the clone, isn't it going to start writing backup data to the same backup drive?

If I don't want this to happen, I guess I have to either:
1. Disable Time Machine on the boot drive before making the clone, or
2. When the clone boots, quickly go to Time Machine prefs and turn it off.

Don't know if it's possible, but it would be nice if SD! had an option to disable Time Machine on a clone it's making.

dnanian
08-19-2009, 11:52 AM
There is no documented, approved way of disabling Time Machine... but if it starts backing up, you can certainly tell it to stop yourself.