PDA

View Full Version : Permissions on Leopard Clones


desertboomer
06-21-2009, 09:27 PM
Just finished upgrading to Mac's 10.5 (Leopard)
SD's been grinding away for 20 min, and it's still on Repairing Permissions!

Is that normal?

Rich
az

dnanian
06-21-2009, 11:03 PM
Repair permissions is slow under Leopard (we simply ask Disk Utility to do it). I'd just turn that option off.

desertboomer
06-23-2009, 03:20 PM
ok- thanks. It seems to be ok now,

Maybe I jumped the gun, or maybe the mac was maxed out on ram, and running super slow. In any case, I restarted, and ran it all again, and the cloning seemed back to normal.

On a similar subject, I can see that with the slower iBook speed,
as my HD load roars past 50 GB, even SmartUpdate cloning takes over an hour- 'evaluating' I guess.

Is there a link to help me program SD to further refine the 'SmartUpdate' criteria?

rich

dnanian
06-23-2009, 03:33 PM
We're not evaluating for the most part; if it's taking over an hour, it's likely because a lot of files are being copied, you still have Repair Permissions on, or you're running an AntiVirus program...

desertboomer
06-27-2009, 09:33 PM
You were right. 1st time Leopard permissions take a long time.

Be aware that after upgrading to Leopard,
my HD (about 60 Gb of data) needed 1+ hour to do permissions!
And that was after all 10.4 permissions were repaired, just before upgrading.

SD was most likely NOT hung up- just grinding away. <g>

jeremy_m
07-04-2009, 09:16 AM
I've turned repair permissions back on after the 10.5.7 update, it seems to be pretty quick for me now, in the 3-5 min range. Before the 10.5.7 update, I had turned if off for the same reasons mentioned above in the this thread, and suggested by Dave.
~ Jeremy