PDA

View Full Version : apprehensive user-bootable clone....


mrstucci
06-03-2009, 03:58 PM
I must be really dense but I haven't found the exact answer to calm my fears about making a bootable backup. I have a new portable 500GB external drive and I want to do TM and make a bootable clone. I have partitioned the drive- 305GB for TM and 160GB for a clone (my internal drive on my MBP is about 185GB in size-88.42GB is being used). So I am confused-in SD, what do I choose to make a bootable backup? I have the window open and I see, "Mac HD to HD Clone; Backup-all files; and this is the confusing part: Copy newer files from Mac HD to HD Clone." I think I read somewhere that I want to have Smart Update also but can't find out how to turn that feature on or choose it. So if some kind soul could help me out and lead me by the hand (in cyberspace) and tell me how to set this up. I am using SD 2.5. Thanks for any help! Judy

dnanian
06-03-2009, 04:05 PM
Click Options and choose "Smart Update" under "During copy".

mrstucci
06-03-2009, 04:18 PM
Ok. So that should do it? I will have a bootable clone and TM on the new portable hard drive??? Sweet. And to get a fresh copy of the bootable clone, then I need to start SD and start the backup, right? Can I set up a schedule for it too? Do I need to check anything in the Advanced tab? Copy ACL's from Mac HD is already checked..... Judy

mrstucci
06-03-2009, 04:20 PM
I already have SD backing up once a week to another hard drive-if I wanted to set up a schedule for this new drive, how to I add another schedule? Judy

dnanian
06-03-2009, 04:22 PM
Assuming you're properly partitioned, Judy, and your drive is appropriate, yes -- that's all you need to do in SuperDuper. If this is a scheduled copy, you need to delete and recreate your schedule -- changing the main window does not affect existing schedules.

Nothing need be checked in the Advanced tab other than the Copy ACLs option (checked is the default).

If you want to do this to another drive, just set it up appropriately and click Schedule... -- every time you do that, you create a new schedule.

mrstucci
06-03-2009, 04:33 PM
Thanks so much for holding my hand....... Judy