PDA

View Full Version : Out of Box Image


OriginalPaladin
05-19-2009, 03:13 PM
Can SuperDuper! create an out of box image? I.e. can I copy the Mac HD to an attached USB HD by booting SuperDuper! from a CD and never actually booting the Mac from its internal HD? Thanks.

dnanian
05-19-2009, 03:15 PM
We don't boot from a CD, no. But -- your Mac comes with discs that basically contain an out-of-box image...

OriginalPaladin
05-19-2009, 03:24 PM
I was looking for something more like Acronis TrueImage but for the Mac. We need to image Macs to sell after using them for a couple of months and we like the folks who buy them to have the exact out of box experience that they would if they bought it new themselves. Thanks.

dnanian
05-19-2009, 03:26 PM
Well, you can certainly start up from an external DVD (or connect the Mac with FireWire target disk mode) and copy, should you really want to do this.

OriginalPaladin
05-19-2009, 03:32 PM
I don't quite follow you on this. Start from an external DVD? FireWire target disk mode? I'm very new to the Mac world, are these options in SuperDuper?

dnanian
05-19-2009, 04:06 PM
OK. Since you're new to the Mac world, the thing to do is to just clean install from the discs that come with the Mac. As long as you don't complete the startup after the install, the user will have the same experience they have with a new Mac.

It's a lot different than Windows...