PDA

View Full Version : Internal HD (non-OS) will not unmount


Photo Guy
04-13-2009, 02:22 AM
Hello!
I used SuperDuper! to make a copy of an internal hd for backup purposes and everything seemed to go fine. SD quit after it finished. I opened Pages to work on a project and after saving it, Pages crashed. I clicked the Ignore button and then the whole OS froze up. My only choice was to do a hard restart via the power button on front.

After that the internal drive that has a lot of data on it (ironically that I was trying to back up) didn't show up on the desktop. I ran Disk Utility and the drive was there but the icon was the plain white 'page'. Clicking Repair Drive gave back 'ERROR: Drive cannot be unmounted'.
I tried a simple restart in hopes it would magically reappear. No luck. Now the drive doesn't even show up in Disk Utility and still not on the desktop.

I have read many posts but still couldn't find an answer how to get the drive back. Any help will be so much appreciated!
Is there a Unix command I can use to tell what file is still open and won't let it unmount?
And if so, how do I close that file so it will mount again?
I haven't tried any but read that many tried DiskWarrior, TechTool & others with no success.

Any ideas are welcome and appreciated!!! Have I left any necessary/important info out of this post?

doconmac
04-13-2009, 06:16 AM
Hello!
I used SuperDuper! to make a copy of an internal hd for backup purposes and everything seemed to go fine. SD quit after it finished. I opened Pages to work on a project and after saving it, Pages crashed. I clicked the Ignore button and then the whole OS froze up. My only choice was to do a hard restart via the power button on front.

After that the internal drive that has a lot of data on it (ironically that I was trying to back up) didn't show up on the desktop. I ran Disk Utility and the drive was there but the icon was the plain white 'page'. Clicking Repair Drive gave back 'ERROR: Drive cannot be unmounted'.
I tried a simple restart in hopes it would magically reappear. No luck. Now the drive doesn't even show up in Disk Utility and still not on the desktop.

I have read many posts but still couldn't find an answer how to get the drive back. Any help will be so much appreciated!
Is there a Unix command I can use to tell what file is still open and won't let it unmount?
And if so, how do I close that file so it will mount again?
I haven't tried any but read that many tried DiskWarrior, TechTool & others with no success.

Any ideas are welcome and appreciated!!! Have I left any necessary/important info out of this post?
Hi
I think you have a corrupted Volume Directory or your hard drive has failed
I don't think it is anything to do with SuperDuper.

I would suggest some things:
Make sure that the HD is listed in the Sidebar in Finder Preferences.
Can you see what is on the HD from there?
Try restarting in Safe Mode, hold down the Shift key until the spinning wheel appears. This runs several repair routines.
Trash the Finder Preferences in ~Library/Preferences com.apple. finder. plist and Restart.
Start up your Mac using the Installer Disc that came with it and run Disk First Aid from the Utilities Menu if the drive shows in the menu.
Also repair Permissions.
If the above don't work, Startup with the Command and S key held down
wait for the black screen and white writing to finish loading, and run the fsck command as instructed at the bottom of the page.
When finished, if it says File System changed, run it again and again
until it says Disk appears OK, Usually twice is enough I find.
Type Reboot and hit return.
Mac will restart and hopefully your HD volume will be there
Finally if none of the above work, Zap the PRAM
Startup with the Command-Option-P-R keys held down simultaneously
Wait until you hear the chime 3 times and release the keys.
Hope these help, if not I think you are of the the repair shop.
I assume you don't own DiskWarrior 4.1.1 or TechToolPro? 4.6.2
for you to boot the computer and run repairs
Ken

dnanian
04-13-2009, 09:58 AM
That really sounds like you had a hardware drive failure on the source, to me... kind of fortunate that it happened right after a backup. Can you start up from the backup successfully?