PDA

View Full Version : First Restore


gordonvp
12-23-2008, 03:35 PM
hi everyone

so things did go horribly wrong and i remembered to panic.

my 160GB hd died. fortunately i made my first bootable superduper clone the a couple days before. a christmas miracle.

i had a new hd intalled (250GB)

the SD backup clone is on an external firewire drive.
i understand that i need to hold down the Option key on start, select the firewire drive, and use SuperDuper! to perform the restore.

...i'm being really linear now because i am 'near' panic and have never done this before.

does this mean when i open SuperDuper from my backup on the firewire drive it will give me an option somewhere to 'restore?' i've only used it once so am not familiar with it yet.

and this will automatically transfer all my files from the FW drive to my HD?

should i update my OS before the restore? (the new HD came with osx 10.3 on it)

maybe i'm more 'extremely nervous' than near panic

thank u in advance for your patience

emac
osx 10.4.11

dnanian
12-23-2008, 03:45 PM
You start up from the backup and use "Backup - all files" to restore, with Smart Update. No need to update the OS, etc.

gordonvp
12-24-2008, 02:04 PM
ok. that sounds almost too easy.
one more question tho.... when i picked up my mac with the new hd i was told i had to set up a user account first, again.
do i need to do that first or can i just access the backup files by holding 'Option' at startup and and it will restore my old account as well?
thanks so much.

dnanian
12-24-2008, 02:18 PM
It'll restore your old account, too.

gordonvp
12-24-2008, 02:21 PM
awesome. tnx again. happy holidays dave.

gordonvp
12-24-2008, 07:55 PM
hmmm
when i first opened SuperDuper i got the message that it cannot find source volume "my hd name"
but it was right there.
after closing and reopening SD a couple times the message ceased.

so from the SuperDuper! window i chose....
Copy (name of fw drive with backup on it)
to (name of my hd)
using Backup - all files

it's copying over now and hopefully will be ok
tnx for your insight and patience

dnanian
12-25-2008, 02:14 AM
We find drives by their low-level IDs, not their name; that's why it couldn't find something you saw. :)