PDA

View Full Version : Will clone boot another Mac?


Cow
12-20-2008, 03:47 PM
I have a Desktop G4 450Mhz AGP Mac running Tiger 10.4.11 from an external firewire drive.

I'm now upgrading to a Desktop G4 533Mhz Dual Processor (Digital Audio) Machine and I would like to use a clone of the external firewire drive with Tiger on it to run this machine.

Does anyone have any experience with trying to boot a Desktop G4 from the SuperDuper clone of a different kind of Desktop G4?

Unfortunately, the new 533Mhz machine is in another state and I cannot test this myself without spending a bunch of money in shipping etc. and I fear it may be all for nothing if it doesn't work.

dnanian
12-20-2008, 05:21 PM
It should work, "Cow": the OS is generally universal between Macs that were released at the time of the OS release (save for Intel/Power PC differences pre-10.5).

Cow
12-21-2008, 02:22 PM
It should work, "Cow": the OS is generally universal between Macs that were released at the time of the OS release (save for Intel/Power PC differences pre-10.5).

Thank you for your quick response! :)

So, even though I installed Tiger for a single processor G4, when I boot it up on the faster, multi-processor G4 the OS will automatically detect the changes to the system and run OK?

I guess it makes sense since when you update a computers RAM on the next reboot the OS automatically sees the update.

Does anyone have any real experience with a scenario close to this, though? I'd really hate to go through the time and expense of doing this with the other computer being in another part of the country only to find out it doesn't work properly and is unstable, etc.

dnanian
12-21-2008, 04:35 PM
That's right, it should work fine, and has for many before you. But I can't promise it will work for you: just make sure you've tested the copy before you leave to ensure it boots as expected.

Cow
12-22-2008, 03:55 PM
That's right, it should work fine, and has for many before you. But I can't promise it will work for you: just make sure you've tested the copy before you leave to ensure it boots as expected.

Great! Thank you so much for your advice. I'll try it! :D