PDA

View Full Version : Sparse image mounted over network is grayed out in backup destination list


therevolution
06-25-2005, 08:53 AM
Hello,

I just purchased SuperDuper and have been checking out the features. Looks really good so far.

From what I've seen here in other threads, it looks like it should be possible to back up to a sparse image mounted via a network share. I've created the sparse image according to this FAQ entry (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=81), and everything seems okay. I can mount the image on the computer here just fine.

However, when I fire up SuperDuper, it shows the image in the destination drop-down, but it is grayed out. I'm not sure what I need to do in order to get SuperDuper to want to store the backup there. Any thoughts? Thanks!

dnanian
06-25-2005, 09:07 AM
Are you actually mounting the image before you start SuperDuper!? You want to select it as a volume, not an "image" -- basically, it'll look like a local volume to SD!

therevolution
06-25-2005, 03:56 PM
Yep, the image is mounted before I launch SuperDuper.

Here's a screen grab so you can see if everything looks okay:

I mount the BackupDisk network share, then mount the "Mike_Backup" image file I created.

dnanian
06-25-2005, 07:44 PM
Hm, OK. Is the Mike_Backup image a read/write sparse image? It looks like it might be read/only...

therevolution
06-25-2005, 08:18 PM
You're right - good catch. I didn't notice the read-only icon in the bottom left corner of the Finder.

It was a server-side permissions issue on the disk itself. All fixed now. Thanks for you help. :D

dnanian
06-25-2005, 08:49 PM
Wow -- actually, me neither! But that's all I could come up with ... :)