PDA

View Full Version : Restore from a backup stored alongside Time Machine


tommasoh
10-11-2008, 06:23 AM
Hello all,

This may have been asked already, but I can't seem to find it in the forums.
Before rethinking my partitioning scheme I would like to know what happens when restoring a SD backup which is saved alongside TimeMachine.

Is the Backups.backupdb folder ignored during the restore? Or SD defaults to copying the whole content of the SD+Timemachine partition?

I understand that it's ok to store alongside TM volumes, but there's no mention of what happens when trying to restore as opposed to a backup in its own partition.

Thanks and sorry if this is stupidly trivial...:-)

dnanian
10-11-2008, 08:53 AM
The "Restore - all files" script ignores "Backups.backupdb" when restoring.

carstenw
10-12-2008, 04:37 PM
I have the same setup for backing up my laptop boot drive to an external disk. I used to use Smart Copy to allow booting from this drive, but had to disable it since it would blow away my TimeMachine backups, so I use Copy New now. Is there any way for me to have my cake and eat it too?

dnanian
10-12-2008, 06:45 PM
Smart Update will preserve Time Machine backups, as it says in the "What's going to happen?" section of the UI.

carstenw
10-13-2008, 06:15 AM
Huh? It blew away mine? Okay, I will try it again, making sure I have the latest version. Thanks.

dnanian
10-13-2008, 09:24 AM
If you were using v2.5, and were using "Smart Update", it wouldn't touch your Time Machine data. "Erase, then copy", would, of course.

The "What's going to happen?" section will definitely indicate explicitly what will happen to the Time Machine data.