PDA

View Full Version : Backup Error: Bad File Descriptor?


killinghall
06-19-2005, 04:50 AM
I've yet to clone my system successfully. Could someone help decode this error?

The permissions were repaired using Disk Utility prior to SD! execution.


|02:01:44 PM|Info| SuperDuper!, version 74, path: /Applications/SuperDuper/SuperDuper!.app, OS: 10.4.1 (8B15)
|02:01:44 PM|Info| Source Drive: /, name: Armored Saint, device: /dev/disk0s3 type: hfs, OS: 10.4.1 (8B15), capacity: 93.04 GB, used: 9.07 GB, directories: 67728, files: 270003
|02:01:44 PM|Info| Target Image: /Volumes/POCKET HD/armoredsaint.dmg, name: armoredsaint.dmg
|02:01:44 PM|Info| Copy Mode : Copy all files.
|02:01:44 PM|Info| Copy Script : Backup - all files.dset
|02:01:44 PM|Info| Transcript : ImageTranscript.plist
|02:01:44 PM|Info| PHASE: Prepare Volumes
|02:01:44 PM|Info| ...ACTION: Enable Permissions
|02:01:44 PM|Info| ......COMMAND => Enabling permissions on Armored Saint
|02:01:45 PM|Info| Refreshing Disk Arbitration ...
|02:01:45 PM|Info| ......COMMAND => Verifying that permissions are enabled for Armored Saint
|02:01:45 PM|Info| Permissions on '/' are enabled.
|02:01:45 PM|Info| ...ACTION: Prepare ASR image "armoredsaint.dmg"
|02:01:45 PM|Info| ......COMMAND => Creating disk image armoredsaint.dmg
|02:01:49 PM|Info| created: /Volumes/POCKET HD/armoredsaint.dmg.sparseimage
|02:01:49 PM|Info| ......COMMAND => Mounting /Volumes/POCKET HD/armoredsaint.dmg on /tmp/SVUmount
|02:01:50 PM|Info| ......COMMAND => Enabling permissions on armoredsaint.dmg mounted on /tmp/SVUmount
|02:01:50 PM|Info| Refreshing Disk Arbitration ...
|02:01:51 PM|Info| ......COMMAND => Verifying that permissions are enabled for armoredsaint.dmg mounted on /tmp/SVUmount
|02:01:51 PM|Info| Permissions on '/tmp/SVUmount' are enabled.
|02:01:51 PM|Info| PHASE: Clone from Source to Target
|02:01:51 PM|Info| ...ACTION: Copy Files from Armored Saint to armoredsaint.dmg
|02:01:51 PM|Info| ......COMMAND => Cloning Armored Saint to armoredsaint.dmg
|02:01:51 PM|Info| Copying all files using script: /Applications/SuperDuper/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/Resources/Copy Scripts/Backup - all files.dset
|02:01:51 PM|Info| Loading 19 commands from copy script /Applications/SuperDuper/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/Resources/Copy Scripts/Exclude system temporary files.dset
|02:01:51 PM|Info| Loading 1 commands from copy script /Applications/SuperDuper/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/Resources/Copy Scripts/Exclude Norton FileSaver files.dset
|02:01:51 PM|Info| Loading 2 commands from copy script /Applications/SuperDuper/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/Resources/Copy Scripts/Backup - all files.dset
|02:01:51 PM|Info| Copy script command hash contains 15 commands
|02:05:38 PM|Info| Ignoring /.Trashes
|02:05:38 PM|Info| Ignoring /.vol
|03:40:53 PM|Info| Logging attributes for item: /System of type: 6
|03:40:53 PM|Info| Type:
|03:40:53 PM|Info| Creator:
|03:40:53 PM|Info| kIsOnDesk: NO
|03:40:53 PM|Info| kColor: NO
|03:40:53 PM|Info| kIsShared: NO
|03:40:53 PM|Info| kHasNoINITs: NO
|03:40:53 PM|Info| kHasBeenInited: NO
|03:40:53 PM|Info| kHasCustomIcon: NO
|03:40:53 PM|Info| kIsStationery: NO
|03:40:53 PM|Info| kNameLocked: NO
|03:40:53 PM|Info| kHasBundle: NO
|03:40:53 PM|Info| kIsInvisible: NO
|03:40:53 PM|Info| kIsAlias: NO
|03:40:53 PM|Info| chmod /tmp/SVUmount/System: Bad file descriptor
|03:40:53 PM|Error| SVUclone: chmod /tmp/SVUmount/System: Bad file descriptor: Bad file descriptor
|03:40:53 PM|Error| ****FAILED****: result=256 errno=1 (Operation not permitted)

dnanian
06-19-2005, 11:07 AM
It looks like your POCKET HD -- the drive that has the backup image on it -- failed. It's possible that it's not formatted for the Macintosh, as HFS+, and thus is running into a file size issue (as FAT32 only supports 4GB files).

The solution would be to use Disk Utility to erase (and ZERO) the drive, using "Mac OS Extended (Journaled)" as the format. Then, you can either back up to an image again or -- even better -- back up directly to the drive.

Sound reasonable?

killinghall
06-19-2005, 11:57 AM
Hmm...I did erase the backup drive once using Disk Utility. Used HFS+ too.

But at this point in time it's also got other files on it. And I've used it between Mac and Windows systems. Would this have any impact?

I'll zero the disk again and try backing it up the first thing after that.

I'll post my results later.

dnanian
06-19-2005, 12:08 PM
Well, if you've used it between Mac and Windows systems, it must be in FAT32, since Windows (without special software) doesn't recognize HFS+ volumes... or do you mean you've erased it a number of times? That wouldn't matter...

I'd definitely zero the disc in case it's having surface issues... let's see what happens after that.

killinghall
06-20-2005, 12:07 AM
Thanks, Dave...yes, I now recall reformatting in MS-DOS on Tiger. I've just reformatted it using HFS+ and am ready to try SD!

Will let you know the results. Thanks so far for responding!

dnanian
06-20-2005, 12:13 AM
Sounds great; I'll wait for your follow-up.

killinghall
06-20-2005, 03:09 AM
Dave,


The backup appears to be working...it's now in the stage of finalizing the session. 1 hour and 31 minutes have elapsed since the process started. Is this normal?

We're looking at about 9GB of data being cloned. And now, below the barber pole, '10', '20', '30' have started to appear...what's that...markers? percent done? *shivers* :eek: :confused:

The thinner progress bar at the bottom is nearing the end...I'm keeping my fingers crossed...

:eek:

killinghall
06-20-2005, 05:31 AM
COPY COMPLETE!!!

:D

9GB of data cloned and compressed to a .dmg of 4.5GB in 1 hour and 37 minutes. Impressive compression, this is...

I suppose I should use smart update the next time round? How reliable is it?

Thanks again, Dave!

dnanian
06-20-2005, 10:16 AM
OK, the big problem here is that a DMG is read-only, so you can't use Smart Update: that was a one-time deal. If this is an HFS+ volume, I'd really back up to it directly (I don't think it is, though, as you'd run into FAT32 limitations with the backup so large).

If you want to use an image, use a Sparse Image as described in the FAQ under "How do I update an image?" That will let you isolate the backup in a single file and update it, too. It can't, however, be compressed -- but it can be encrypted.

Regarding Smart Update's reliability: it's extremely reliable.