PDA

View Full Version : Changing Current system to a new Drive?


Denisw
09-02-2008, 03:16 PM
Hello, I hope you can advise me. I have a Mac Pro With Leopard O/S on a 500GB Hard Drive. I want to put this system on my new drive using SuperDuper but I'm not sure how to go about it! Both Hard drives are 500GB and internal the source Drive is Labelled "Mac Leopard" and the other Drive is currently Named "Macintosh HD" and although now empty has not been zeroed (Ive just deleted everything).

I would be grateful if you could tell me what steps I should take to copy my system to the other drive so that I can then become my bootable System drive? Your Help and expertise would be much appreciated

Kind Regards Denis

dnanian
09-02-2008, 04:07 PM
As long as it's properly partitioned (see various other posts on the forums for this), you'll just use "Backup - all files" with "Smart Update" or "Erase, then copy" to copy the files over. Then, rename the backup drive to the same as the original, and you can use it as your primary (if that's what you're trying to do)...

Denisw
09-03-2008, 07:56 AM
Yes, I want to make the new drive my Primary drive., I was just unsure what settings to use with SD. I was thinking I should use "Restore - all files" to create a new Primary Drive and that "Backup - all files" may not copy thing the same because it was creating a backup. Thanks for your advice it is very much appreciated. I think I will zero the target drive first as this should ensure drive is in pristine condition prior to transfer.

Thanks again Denis

lightning
09-06-2008, 12:01 AM
So, to be clear, using "Backup - All Files" will create a complete, bootable clone of the main OSX installation?

I previously used Sandbox, and couldn't figure out how to migrate the rest of the HD properly... in my case, I have a 320G HD with Leopard and Vista (via bootcamp). I bought a new 750G HD, which I'd like to use for OSX, and leave the original 320G split between a backup for OSX and a bootcamp installation.

The 750G now has the Sandbox install... should I kill the Sandbox instance and then do "Backup - All Files" from the 320G to the 750G? From there, I should be able to boot into the 750G backup, and then use the original 320G as mentioned above, right? In other words, the backup becomes the primary, and the original becomes the backup.

dnanian
09-06-2008, 04:00 AM
That's right: use "Backup - all files", not Sandbox...