PDA

View Full Version : New Hard Drive need to be formatted ?


rayc325
06-11-2005, 03:01 PM
OK I purchased SD! and made a backup to an external FW drive. Now I would like to replace the drive in the powerbook. After I install the new drive does it need to be formatted or are there any special procedures before I restore the drive? Thanks :)

dnanian
06-11-2005, 11:38 PM
No special procedures: just make sure that when you erase it with disk utility before restoring, you name it the same thing as it was named previously. Should be pretty easy to do!

Also, make sure you can BOOT from the backup, and that everything looks OK. Not entirely necessary because you've got the old drive as a secondary backup, but just something to check before doing anything radical.

rayc325
06-12-2005, 12:49 AM
....if I don't rename the drive. I went ahead and erased it using disk utilities but it didn't ask to name the drive, It is named "untitled". I thought when I made the clone it would use the same name as the old drive?

Thanks again.

dnanian
06-12-2005, 11:30 AM
No, when you copy the files you're copying files, and the name of the volume is set beforehand. (The volume name is not a property of the files, and most people wouldn't want their destination volume renamed on them during a backup.)

Hope that's semi-clear...!

rayc325
06-12-2005, 07:45 PM
I renamed it after making the clone, is that OK or should I erase and start over. Thanks :confused:

dnanian
06-12-2005, 07:51 PM
No, no, don't erase. Just don't boot from it until it's renamed. If you have, just Smart Update it: no need to erase.