PDA

View Full Version : Two backups


SteveC
07-27-2008, 10:24 AM
I've been happily using SuperDuper for maybe a year now, backing up to a disk image on a bus powered firewire drive.

Last week I made a bootable backup on another firewire drive.

Today I'm trying to do a smart update to the disk image. Superduper won't let me do it. The sparseimage that I want to select as a destination won't show up in the "to" pop up.

In other words -- I'm trying to alternate between two backups. After I use one, I can't seem to get SD to select the sparseimage for the first one.

Can anyone help with this?

Thanks very much,
Steve

dnanian
07-27-2008, 11:26 AM
Well, the sparse image will only show up in the "to" pop-up if you open it in Finder. Did you do that?

SteveC
07-27-2008, 11:34 AM
Okay, I see it now. I expected SD to allow me to select the sparseimage and then open it itself. That's how it works when the sparseimage is the last-used destination.

Opening it by hand in the Finder is easy, but not intuitive.

But now I know.

Thanks very much,
Steve

dnanian
07-27-2008, 11:38 AM
You can: select "Disk Image..." and then pick the image (even though it's grey, and ignore the warning).

You might find it convenient to save settings with the two setups (File > Save), then load the one you want (File > Load Settings... or File > Recent).