PDA

View Full Version : Boot from Sandbox or SuperDuper Clone


tuni
07-10-2008, 04:14 PM
If I wanted to start my iMac from Sandbox (External LaCie FW Drive) itself, without doing the copy first, how would I do that?

I'm on Leopard .

Actually, I would need to do that even with a restore from my SD clone (also on the External LaCie FW Drive) if the iMac got hosed,right?

I tried going to the iMac desktop and clicking on the SD and SB icons but that won't do it unless I set up the whole copy (Smart copy or full copy) process.

So how does one reboot from the external drive either Sandbox and/or SD clone?

Many thx,
tuni

dnanian
07-10-2008, 04:24 PM
You'd either select it in the Startup Disk preference pane or choose it from the menu that appears when you hold down the Option (Alt) key during power-on.

tuni
07-10-2008, 05:16 PM
gotcha - thx....it worked both ways.

The reason I might not try the system pref. start up disk would be if I couldn't get on the system to select it. Using the options key makes more sense to me just-in-case I have to use it.

What wouldn't work was trying to boot from the FW using the "T" - that just gave me a large FW icon on the desktop with no mouse ability or any other key usage that I could figure ou

dnanian
07-10-2008, 05:45 PM
"T" basically turns your Mac into a giant, rather expensive FireWire drive. :)