PDA

View Full Version : Backing up VMWare, Fusion, (Not Bootcamp)


kevlong
07-10-2008, 10:30 AM
I have Vista installed in VMWare which is a very big file, that presumably changes every time it is run. Will this mean that the full, large file will be backed up when Smart Update runs? And should the VMWare folder be excluded in this case.

Many thanks,

Kevlong

dnanian
07-10-2008, 10:48 AM
It's really up to you, Kevlong. If you don't want it backed up, you can exclude it. But that implies that you don't think it's worth backing up.

kevlong
07-10-2008, 11:38 AM
It's really up to you, Kevlong. If you don't want it backed up, you can exclude it. But that implies that you don't think it's worth backing up.
At this time it's not so much a question of worth rather one of understanding the impact of multiple backups of an often changing 20GB+ file!

Thanks,

Kevlong

dnanian
07-10-2008, 12:37 PM
Well... it won't keep multiple copies, if that's what you mean...

kevlong
07-10-2008, 12:48 PM
Ah, now that's interesting. I suppose that the VM File will have the same name, so that it will just be replaced? I'm obviously too much in Time Capsule mode!!

Thanks for your help.

Kevlong