PDA

View Full Version : SD seems to freeze, but ext HD keeps updating


Xavier
06-25-2008, 01:47 PM
Ok, the cloning process is currently happening as I type. I decided to upgrade my internal HD to a 750G a few months back, but only plan to clone essential files to an external 250G. Since there is one Admin(myself) and 3 other user accounts I decided to "Backup ALL Users Data - minus Admin's data".

SD seems to freeze and does not update evaluated, copied, or copy speed (basically all of "2. Copy Files" is not updating). However, when I do look up info on the external HD the gigs of data are increasing. The discrepancy is from 9.4Gigs in SD to 26.6Gigs in ExtHD. I know big files are supposed to slow down/freeze SD, but I can't think of a 15+Gig file. Activity Monitor does not show any problems with SD being frozen or unresponsive. By the way I do have the latest build 84 of SD 2.5.

(OK, I know too much info, but here are the questions?)

Is this common? or Should I be concerned?
Does running Quicksilver, Activity Monitor, or Firefox freeze SD?
How can I find out what big file is being transferred?
What if it is a file from another user account and I am not currently on Admin?

dnanian
06-25-2008, 02:03 PM
There is a known issue, in Tiger, on some Intel Macs, that causes the status display to stop updating during a copy intermittently. We've discovered the source of this problem (it's an API in OSX that has some sort of strange bug that was fixed in leopard), and have worked around the problem in the next update.

Xavier
06-25-2008, 02:18 PM
Thanks for the quick reply.
Cloning finished with no problems.
Can't wait for the update.

k8conant
07-01-2008, 01:51 PM
There is a known issue, in Tiger, on some Intel Macs, that causes the status display to stop updating during a copy intermittently. We've discovered the source of this problem (it's an API in OSX that has some sort of strange bug that was fixed in leopard), and have worked around the problem in the next update.

When will the next update be? I'm having the same problem right now.

dnanian
07-01-2008, 03:24 PM
We're working on it, and will release it when it's complete...