PDA

View Full Version : Restore from Time Capsule?


richb
06-19-2008, 11:59 AM
I am successfully backing up to my TC with SD!.

I have not needed to restore (knock on wood)

Has anyone successfully restored from a Time Capsule?

If so, what would the process be?

Restart from the Installer Disk, and use Disk Utility?
Do I need to install the OS FIRST, or will Disk Utility just "install" my entire SD backup?

Please fill me in on the proper steps, for "possible" future reference.

Thanks.

dnanian
06-19-2008, 12:03 PM
You'll need a full install of OSX on something (flash drive, other disk, something). You'd then connect to the Time Capsule and follow the steps in the User's Guide to restore.

richb
06-19-2008, 12:25 PM
Thanks Dave.

One quick question:

If my only option is to reinstall to my internal macbook pro's drive (no other flash drives, FW drives, etc.) - is restoring from my SD backup still possible?

For example, my internal HD goes south.
I install a new one, and install Leopard from the install disk.
Re-install SD!
Get TC up and running.

At this point, when I do a restore, will all my system files, apps, preferences, etc. from my SD backup overwrite the "fresh install" files - and I will be up and running like just before the HD crash?

Is it even possible to backup to you startup drive? Or should I be looking for an alternate backup solution?

My wife has a macbook. Would I be able to use Target Disk Mode?

Please fill me in on anything I may have missed.

Thanks again Dave.

dnanian
06-19-2008, 12:37 PM
You can't restore to the drive you're running from. But your wife's macbook, using FW Target Disk mode, will work fine.

richb
06-19-2008, 12:51 PM
Got it.

Target Disk Mode
Format the drive
Load the backup

Thanks again.