PDA

View Full Version : Spotlight state not preserved?


gbevin
05-25-2008, 05:24 PM
Hi,

every time I do a full backup where the target volume is erased, the volume is not added to the Spotlight privacy pane after backup. I need to manually add it each time, this is a little bit frustrating since I can't just completely forget the backup process.

Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Geert

dnanian
05-25-2008, 05:42 PM
Use "Smart Update" instead? (Unfortunately, the spotlight 'state' is kept on the drive you're erasing, and when you erase it it gets, well, erased!)

gbevin
05-25-2008, 06:00 PM
I use smart update for daily updates and a full backup every week to ensure that the backup is done completely from scratch. Are you saying that there's no reason at all to do the full backup once in a while?

I do think it would be handy if SD could detect the spotlight state of the target drive and remember is during the backup process of a full backup. If the whole target drive is set to be ignored, that could then be re-applied. I don't see why during the backup process that information can't simply be kept in the local state of the application so that it can be used at the end to set re-enable it.

dnanian
05-25-2008, 06:26 PM
There's really no reason to do that - it's certainly not something I do... but I understand the request -- thanks.