PDA

View Full Version : TimeMachine after a restore


rlfsoso
05-06-2008, 04:28 PM
Hi,

I had to restore my system from a fairly recent (May 1) backup-clone because of a persisting instability (Finder re-re-re-re…starting itself over and over again without remorse (safe-start, login-items disabled, HD checked and repaired, preferences and caches erased/cleaned etc.).

Well though that solved my problem, now my TimeMachine backup is not fully in sync: it is now about four days more than the system thinks it is.

Now what to do? Just re-start TimeMachine?

Any ideas?

Thanks a lot. (By the way I did have the problem with the not properly updated pre-binding when restarting from my clone(s). It is a bit of a problem when all apps (including Safari) are not working to get at the information. Maybe there is another way by integrating the script into SD? I mean when you get around to update SD… oh and please there are ways to improve scheduling…)

I donot want to close this without stating most emphatically that SD again has saved me!!! Thanks a lot!!!

Rolf

dnanian
05-06-2008, 04:54 PM
You should be able to turn Time Machine back on and it should 'catch up'.

We do have the prebinding 'fix' in the next update of SD.

rlfsoso
05-07-2008, 09:48 AM
Hi Dave,

thanks for the reply, indeed TimeMachine did notice the existence of allready backed up files and – after some lengthy checking – recovered.

The updated SD with a fix is very much welcome!

Rolf

jdh
06-27-2008, 10:29 AM
My apologies for resurrecting an older thread, but I'm not seeing this behaviour of Time Machine "Catching up" so I'm not sure if there's something I'm missing or there's a bug somewhere.

I was having the typical problems with fragmentation in putting a Boot Camp partition back on my system, and a Super Duper restore has always been a far faster way to "defrag" my internal drive than bothering with an actual defragmentation tool :)

Unfortunately, after a restore, Time Machine wants to re-backup 64GB of data, which is approximately my entire internal drive less any specifically excluded files (like my Aperture library). To add insult to injury, it takes a ridiculously long time to do this -- longer than it would to wipe out the Time Machine backup and start over from scratch.

This may not be a Super Duper specific problem, mind you... My wife's MacBook had a failure without a Super Duper backup, so we restored her unit from Time Machine itself, and even then it wanted to back up the entire thing again.

Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated, however -- even if its just something I can tweak to avoid this problem next time around. Not only is the time it takes to do another full TM backup quite irritating, but the fact is that I'll end up stuck with 60+ GB of redundant data in my TM backup.

dnanian
06-27-2008, 12:58 PM
As you've seen above, it doesn't always do that, jdh: unfortunately, TM is opaque enough that it's hard to know why it might do that in some cases, and work differently in others...