PDA

View Full Version : Backup Drive Names


rock15478
05-01-2008, 04:56 PM
Hi,

I just purchased SuperDuper! last night and ran my initial backups. I have a Power Mac G5 with 2 internal hard drives. One is a 250 GB and includes the OS (Tiger 10.4), applications, and all system files. The other is a 200 GB and is for all audio and video files. I have a 500 GB Lacie External that I'm using as my backup drive. I partitioned it into 2 volumes...One for the 250 GB, and one for the 200 GB...Ran the backups, and all is well...

Now, first question is this...I want to schedule both of these to run nightly. Do I need to schedule these at different times, or if I select the same time for them to both run, will SuperDuper! be smart enough to run them back to back? ...or will it try running both at the same time?

Secondly, I have read some posts that say you should name the backup drives the exact same as the original drives. My 2 internal drives are called "Macintosh HD" and "Maxtor HD" - I named the 2 volumes on my Lacie Backup drive as "Macintosh HD Backup" and "Maxtor HD Backup" - Is this okay or should I have named them the exact same? And if so, why is this so important and what is the main difference? I figured it would be easier to see what is what naming them like that...otherwise I would have 2 drives named the same thing at all times. Thanks for the help.

dnanian
05-01-2008, 05:16 PM
Set them one minute apart and we'll be smart enough to run them back to back. And that name's fine -- it's just that when you start up from a backup drive, it's best that it be named the same as the original.

rock15478
05-01-2008, 05:43 PM
So if I want to boot from that drive I should change the name of it to the original?

dnanian
05-01-2008, 06:25 PM
That's what I'd suggest.

rock15478
05-01-2008, 10:25 PM
On another forum I noticed that someone said SuperDuper! should automatically change the name of the backup drive to be the same because it's making an identical clone of it. Is this supposed to happen? Why don't I actually see the option to "clone" the drive? Is this essentially what it's doing? Thanks for all the help so far.

dnanian
05-01-2008, 10:50 PM
That person is not correct: we copy the files from volume to volume. We don't copy the volume's name.