PDA

View Full Version : Drive not showing second time around


chumphries
04-23-2008, 05:55 PM
Hello,

I tried it out and did a complete backup to the first partition on an external drive. It seemed to work great. When I came back a couple days later and wanted to do the same thing again, it fails to see the drive I used... or any partitions on the external drive at all.

I thought maybe I messed up something, so wiped out the SuperDuper partition and reformatted, just in case it might magically fix it. The problem still persists.

Originally it came up saying it couldn't find drive "(null)". I tried removing the settings in my home directory for SuperDuper yet there is no change for that either.

What am I missing?

Here is a screenshot of the problem. (http://www.unixfu.net/Fullscreen-SuperDuper-Problem.jpg)

I have three partitions on the external drive: 1) SuperDuper, 2) rsync backups and other file storage, and 3) Time Machine backups.

dnanian
04-23-2008, 07:31 PM
Quit SD! and remove the "Saved Settings" folder in Library/Application Support/SuperDuper! (off your Home folder). Then, start SD! and see if the partitions are visible again...

chumphries
04-23-2008, 07:37 PM
Quit SD! and remove the "Saved Settings" folder in Library/Application Support/SuperDuper! (off your Home folder). Then, start SD! and see if the partitions are visible again...

I tried that already from doing searching of these forums, same result. Just tried it again, and still the same result.

In fact I've removed the entire local ($HOME) settings before more than once :)

Looking forward of how to fix with other suggestions.

dnanian
04-23-2008, 08:00 PM
I thought perhaps you had removed the preferences, rather than the folder I indicated.

You've restarted your Mac? (I realize that seems pretty basic.)

If so, please quit SD!, start it again and then -- immediately on failure -- please send me a ZIPped System Profiler report (to the support email address).

chumphries
04-24-2008, 11:22 AM
A reboot did fix it and it works now. Seems silly to have to restart though.

dnanian
04-24-2008, 11:58 AM
Sometimes, the OS ends up in a bad state; silly or not, a restart is often a good fix.