PDA

View Full Version : Copy Now Progress Bar freezes


DaveT
04-13-2008, 12:02 AM
Sometimes, but not always, the Progress Bar and associated info in the Copy Now box, freezes early in a Smart Update backup. The backup appears to complete properly.

Running a MacMini Intel Core Solo, OS10.4.11, 2G RAM.

Any hints? Thanks.

dnanian
04-13-2008, 10:30 AM
It's a known issue on some Intel Macs, discussed elsewhere on the forums (and in the blog); we're working on it...

canonkid
04-14-2008, 06:37 PM
Hi
I just wanted to let you know that I'm also having the same problem. I'm using a Mac Book Pro Intel Dual 2.33 ghz with 3 gigs of ram. The backup boots and seems to be fine. I also backup a partition of files and the problem does not happen. I'm backing up to a OWC External firewire 800 drive. I'm running OS 10.4.11. If you need more info let me know.
Thanks
canonkid

dnanian
04-14-2008, 09:09 PM
Thanks, canonkid... we're working on this...

malkruger
04-14-2008, 11:49 PM
Hi Dave,

I too am randomly having the freezing problem during a Smart Update. I am using a 2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, with OS 10.4.11. So as to give you as much information as possible, I switched back to v 2.1.4,from v 2.5, and the freezing has not occurred.

Thanks for the fine and rapid support.

dnanian
04-15-2008, 12:13 AM
Thanks for the additional info.

DaveT
04-15-2008, 09:50 AM
Thanks to all who chimed in. And thanks to Dave N for his assurance that it is being worked on.

Wall
04-15-2008, 11:03 AM
Hello,

I don't want to flood this topic but I thought extra info might help. I'm experiencing the same problem on the following machine :

iMac Core2Duo 1.83 GHz, 1 GB RAM
Tiger 10.4.8.
Western Digital MyBook 320 GB, USB 2.0

By the way this is a first backup, not a Smart Update. Both internal and external HDs sound like they're working away, I'm waiting for the process to complete to check if the copy is functional.

Thanks for a great application. :)

dnanian
04-15-2008, 11:13 AM
Please send me this log when the copy completes, Wall, using the "Send to shirt pocket" button. Thanks!

magoo66
04-17-2008, 01:56 AM
Hey Dave, I reported this a while back, and e-mailed my logs back then and everything.

Since then, I've tried to pay closer attention to when it freezes vs doesn't freeze. I *think* it is due to parallels. I haven't 100% isolated the occurance, but it's pretty consistent that if I use parallels (win xp) since the previous smart update, then sd! status bar will freeze.

I watch my computer stats during the backup, and even when it 'freezes' my network connection is still transferring data like crazy. That, combined with the fact that the backups always finish successfully, leads me to believe that sd! is not actually 'freezing' per-se. I think that sd! status bar just doesn't take into account the 20gig windowsxp.hdd file (or whatever size people may have).

Does that fall in line with your investigation?

dnanian
04-17-2008, 11:46 AM
This is not the same as the 'freezing' that happens to a small percentage of users. A 'pause' during a long file copy is both expected and normal.