PDA

View Full Version : Trying Tiger on Clone


na goodman
05-20-2005, 06:29 PM
So, I would like to give Tiger a try but do not want to put it on my main
system. I have an external firewire drive that I have cloned using SD and
I also have a safety clone. Would I apply Tiger to the clone? Also I notice on my clone and safety clone that a number of the applicatons, looks like third party apps are aliases and not the actual app. Does SD clone an alias
associated with the application on my main drive?

dnanian
05-20-2005, 07:03 PM
A safety clone shares many applications and files with the main drive -- those are the aliases you're seeing. Totally expected, but please note that it's not a backup for exactly that reason!

It's up to you how you want to try out Tiger. Since it's best to have a full backup, I'd probably try it on the Safety Clone first. If you're happy with it, it's easy enough to install it on your main partition, and you still have a backup.

If you install on your backup, you don't have a backup any more...

na goodman
05-20-2005, 07:51 PM
So does the clone also share the applications with the main drive, because I see the aileses there also. Just so I'm clear - if my main drive ever failed, I would be able to boot from the clone and then would I need to install the
applications that were aileses. Is that correct. Thanks for always answering so quickly and explaining things so well. Have a great weekend.

dnanian
05-20-2005, 07:54 PM
You shouldn't see aliases on the main drive, "na". Only on a Safety Clone...

A "Backup - all files" copy doesn't create aliases unless the original file being copied *is* an alias.

(Hope your weekend is great too!)

na goodman
05-20-2005, 08:00 PM
The aileses are on the clone that is an external drive. I don't think they were always there so maybe I should erase the drive and reclone to the external drive. The main drive does not have the aileses.

dnanian
05-20-2005, 08:45 PM
Yeah, it sounds like your backup wasn't a backup - all files but rather a safety clone...