PDA

View Full Version : Time Travel and SuperDuper!


rwross
03-27-2008, 01:41 AM
I purchased SD earlier tonight and have a couple questions I couldn't find answered in the manual or here...sorry if I missed them.

What happens if I'm currently running a clone or sandbox and Time Machine executes?

Here's a sample scenario:

Latest Time Machine Backup is April 1 00:00
I've booted to a clone made on March 15 00:00 and Time Machine starts to execute. It would "see" that my TM backup drive has two weeks worth of files newer than it has, so what would it back up if anything? I'm assuming it wouldn't overwrite my newer TM backup or corrupt it in some way, but any clarification would be very helpful.


My other question has to do with partition type. My SD drive came from LaCie partitioned as APM, but I am NOT using TM on the SD drive. Should I reformat as GUID since I'm using an Intel Mac, or is it ok to leave it as APM since I'm not using TM on it?

Much thanks!!

rwr

dnanian
03-27-2008, 12:53 PM
I assume it'll do the right thing, rwr, but you'll have to check to see... You should definitely use GUID if you've got an Intel Mac.

rwross
03-27-2008, 02:15 PM
Thanks, I've reformatted as GUID.

Can you provide a bit more clarity around your comment with respect to Time Machine.

I know a bunch of effort was made to ensure that SD was compatible with TM so assumed this was one of the test cases.

Let's take a more simple example:

I've booted to either a clone or sandbox and time machine executes. What happens and will it corrupt the time machine backup? When I again boot from my internal drive, will Time Machine still function properly?

Sorry if my previous question wasn't clear...hope this helps.

dnanian
03-27-2008, 02:31 PM
Time Machine is basically a black box, and it's hard to know what it's going to do in all cases. It should work fine, but I didn't write it, there's very little documentation, and it's hard to know what it's going to do in all situations.

rwross
03-27-2008, 02:36 PM
Thanks for the continued and quick responses.

Last question and I'll post a broader thread up top to see if other users have done this test case.

Would you recommend that I not allow TM to execute when booting from the clone or sandbox?

thanks again,
rwr

dnanian
03-27-2008, 02:38 PM
No, I think it'll be fine: it's important to remember that a Sandbox isn't "magical", just useful, so Time Machine should be able to handle it like any other drive.